Auto Merge Toggle

I’m often highlighting related notes in a passage, which I want to have in the same note. It is time consuming to have to later merge these highlights together.

Would it be possible to have an On/Off button for an Auto Merge feature? This would automatically merge any new highlights to the currently selected note, instead of creating a new note card.

Ideally this button would be in an easily accessible part of the interface, e.g. the toolbar, so it can easily be turned On and Off with one tap.