Academic use - workflow / hints, please?

Hi, would anyone using MN for academic purposes care to share HOW they use it - I keep getting drawn to it but then stumble at making it actually work for me.

I’m studying humanities with a focus on philosophy, so understanding concepts and linking ideas is more important than building a hierarchy of hard facts that can be excerpted straight from the document, which I think is where I fall down a bit.

I also like to use handwriting as much as possible since it improves retention and understanding.

Thanks in advance.

8 Likes

This sounds like you could be interested in the Zettelkasten approach that I‘ve linked to here. MN is pretty great for this already.

3 Likes

Hi,

I’m a masters student, studying applied linguistics. I’m writing my dissertation at the moment. I’ve been using MarginNote for a few years. My current academic workflow, which is changing, shifting and developing all the time, might not be what you want to know. I’m not sure if you’re asking about specific ways to use MN or about academic workflows in general. This is about the ladder.

Margin note is what I use for reading. I highlight and make, well, margin notes. I don’t put too much thoughts into my notes and highlight indiscriminately. That’s the first step. I consider it something like rapid logging in a bullet journal. The point is not to loose focus on what I’m reading, while not forgetting thoughts that arise while reading.