Automatically link exported highlights to original document

Hello, as a social psychology student, I read lots of PDF’s, and MN is the perfect tool I was looking for all these years.

First, I use (unfortunately not MN) PDF expert to rapidly create a table of contents. Then import to MN. I read and annotate and add to notebook within MN. It is automatically grouped by chapter. Then, I hierarchize, emphasize and tag in the study mode. For further treatment, I export the notebook to Evernote, from there import to Notion, make it look nice (and save a page of the document with the original file, tags, author related pages, eventually a mind map done with iThoughts or other mind mapping software that imports from MN). This way I basically use Notion as an advanced library/bookshelf for scientific articles). Finally I export to Roam Research for reviewing, making connections within the material, understanding the field, the ideas.

One cool feature about MN is that it can get you to the original document when you need to see the context in which the highlight / annotation takes place. This works directly from Roam, so when you click on a linked excerpt, MN shows you the associated note, and you can retrieve the annotation/highlight’s original context.

This is AMAZING !

BUT… To be able to perform my academic work, I also use Kindle paperwhite for reading large books, for medical reasons: no screen in the evenings (cause insomnia) and a lighter device than iPad for reading (cause wrist problems). I would like to do the same information extraction/arrangement/retrieval for the kindle books as I do for PDF’s.