Ok, so if I look in cloud sync I can see three types of item: document, doc notebook and mind map notebook. It seems that a doc notebook is what holds the annotations that are created on the document (eg in document mode) and if the user then goes to study mode then a mindmap notebook is created and the doc notebook ceases to exist.
If the original document is deleted by the user, the document continues to exist in cloud sync (and I think if you then add the same document again to MarginNote it picks up the annotations from here).
Ok. So this means that if I add a whole bunch of pdfs to MarginNote, start with a few preliminary notes / annotations, then decide the paper isn’t relevant to me so delete it, and repeat for several papers (very common on my course), I’ll end up with a huge list over time of things sitting in the doc notebooks part of the cloud sync. Or if I delete all my papers at the end of an academic module, ditto. You can delete them but only one at a time.
Does this matter? Does it take up app space, or is it marginal? Are there any tips I should be following?