Help with flattened highlights in pdf export

I’ve been using the app for a couple of years now, without realising that the format in which it exports means that the highlights cannot be read by other apps.

I realise that you can view them (i.e. see them) but they can’t be recognised and so nothing can be done with them outside of marginnote.

I believe the the technical description of this is that the highlights have been flattened.

I desperately need other apps to be able to read the highlights.

I have hundreds of articles and books that I’ve highlighted, with tens of thousands of highlights !!!

Please could you let me know:

1) if there is any way to get an export of a pdf that does not flatten the highlights?
2) if there are any plans to introduce this feature and if so WHEN???

I’ve looked through the forum and the only query / responses I can see on this topic are:

Marginnote annotations should NOT be flattened in Oct - 2019 - where it seemed that there was some assurance the non-flattening would be adopted

Feature request - Don’t flatten annotations on export - in July 2019 - which also indicated that the feature was on your road map

As I said, I’m desperate not to have to re-highlight the pdfs in another app, in order to have interoperability. IT WOULD TAKE ME THOUSANDS OF HOURS.

1 Like

Hello - is there anyone in the company / tech support looking at this board or monitoring support requests?

I’ve sent this request via both email and through this forum and heard nothing.

It would be courteous just to let me / us know if nothing is happening and that we’re left to our own devices.

As I said in the message above, you have indicated in two separate forum responses that non-flattening of pdfs will be adopted. But that was back in 2019.

Living in hope here

Okay this is officially getting a bit annoying.

A week without any response to this request for help.