Highlighting notes but not adding them to Mindmap

I’m new to MarginNote 3 and have been quite impressed with it so far. I’m still on the 14-day trial but will probably get both the iPad and Mac version.

I’m reading a PDF/book in which highlights I make are automatically added to a MindMap notebook. However, there are some highlights that I don’t want added, highlights that I make simply because they are interesting to see when re-reading but nothing important for a MindMap notebook. Is there a way to have certain highlights not become part of the MindMap notebook?

1 Like

Welcome to the amazing MarginNote :slight_smile:

If you turn off Auto Add to Mind Map under the gear icon at the top of your document then highlights won’t automatically be added, however you will have to click “+ Add to Mind Map” on the command bar after making a highlight for them to be added to the mind map.

Yes, I figured that.

However, most of the time I want it to be auto added.

So is there a way to remove certain auto-added notes in the MindMap notebook without also removing the highlight in the document itself? I tried this and I may be performing it incorrectly, but each time I remove an note in the MindMap notebook, the corresponding highlight also goes away in the document.

I seem to remember disconnecting a node from the highlight but after looking again I don’t see any way to do that. Either I was using another program or I somehow stumbled across the feature accidentally. Hopefully one of the support folk are able to answer this. If the feature to disconnect a node from a highlight isn’t in the project then it should be.

Thank you for looking! Much appreciated :slight_smile:
I’m hoping for a solution.