Stopped using MN

MN is sluggish, nothing works 100%, waste of time ( I use a significantly amount of time on solving problems related to MN).
MN is based on a couple of good Ideas but the execution is nowhere near acceptable. If it works for you, good. It unfortunately did not work for me.

I used MN for three courses on uni (I’m studying mathematical economics and sometimes I take a physics course). I had it installed on all my devices. I got my exam results monday morning - worst results ever. This was no surprise. The blame: MN.

I’m going back to what I used to do: mainly Anki.

1 Like

For me, MN is good at what Liquidtext is good at - annotating and collecting information across multiple documents, to help facilitate users to more easily summarize and digest said information. Within my own workflows, it comes down to the mind-mapping function.

Everything else, I kind of eschewed, incl export functions and its own flashcard system. Where the software stands now, it doesn’t really excel beyond its main purpose. I still use OneNote and Anki, software that I find to be much more suited for tasks such as handwritten notes and SRS, but I’m also okay with MN not being the be all and end all for my productivity needs.

I will echo that MN, even in its 3rd edition, is lacking a lot of polish… and that’s why I’ve always been wary of deeply embedding my workflow in this program.

2 Likes

Hi, JeroSaac

Thank you for the information provided.

As a member of the MN team, I’m really sorry that MN3 makes trouble to your study. And as a user of MN3, I have to admit that MN3 may annoy some novices because of its variety of features.

In order to let users have quick start, our team are trying to make more detailed instructions and user guide, which may save some time for novices. By the way, if you meet problems while using MN3, please send us e-mails or just post your questions to the forum.